Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Joseph
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Moving to LA!

Hi all! I'm a recent college graduate who was lucky to land a job on the western side of LA post graduation (technically I graduate this Sunday, but oh well). I've been keeping tanks since I was ~8, with interests in most things fishy (except Rift Lake cichlids for some reason). At the moment, I'm more specialized into nano fish on the freshwater side. I'm super excited to join an aquarium society now that I'm soon to be financially independent. I went to college in NorCal, and kept small (<= 10 gallon) tanks, but now that I'm moving, I'm all ready to get a couple of fish tank racks up. I'd love it if I could get some advice with the following as I prepare to move to LA!
    • Earthquakes + Fish tanks? Earlier this year when I was planning out fish tank racks, I was all for a triple tier system where there was a sump, a tank above the sump, and a tank above that tank, using concrete blocks and 2x4's ala Aquarium Co-Op. But...earthquakes seem like they might be an issue? And I'm not really sure how that will affect my planning process for a "fish space" in a new apartment. I'd appreciate any and all advice!
    • Saltwater LA aquarium clubs? My interests also expand to the saltwater side, and while I know this is more of a freshwater club (planted macroalgae tanks exist too!), I haven't found anything on clubs in LA that also work on the saltier side. Connections and links would be great!
    • Tap water parameters around the west LA area? I acknowledge that RO/DI water is superior, but part of my freshwater plans include breeding fish and plants, and depending on tapwater pH, those plans change (ex. pygmy corydoras and ember tetras if it's on the softer side pH and GH wise, CPD's and rosy loaches if it's on the harder side)