User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Tank length question

  1. #1
    SCAPE Member Sr. SCAPEr cjbart1009's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    549
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Jasper
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Tank length question

    Whats the longest length I can have a tank to provide good enough flow with the eheim pro 4+ 600?

    I currently have it in my 40 long tank and I have it reduced to half the flow. Can I do 5 long by 20 wide with just this filter and still provide adequate flow?


    Sent from my iPhone
    I'm only happy when my otos are happy

  2. #2
    Moderator Pro SCAPEr Nick Shades's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Redlands, CA
    Posts
    1,797
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Nick
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It has a head lift of almost 6 feet.
    Depending on how much length you are bringing it up from the ground to get back into the tank, the general rule of thumb is that horizontal length removes head lift at a ratio of 3 to 1, and tank discharge diffusion is approximately 2 to 1.

    So if you have a 5 foot tank, your diffusion is 10` at 0 lift.

    If you have 3 feet of lift, your diffusion on a five foot tank remains at 1 foot diffusion remaining.

  3. #3
    SCAPE Member Sr. SCAPEr cjbart1009's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    549
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Jasper
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Nick Shades View Post
    It has a head lift of almost 6 feet.
    Depending on how much length you are bringing it up from the ground to get back into the tank, the general rule of thumb is that horizontal length removes head lift at a ratio of 3 to 1, and tank discharge diffusion is approximately 2 to 1.

    So if you have a 5 foot tank, your diffusion is 10` at 0 lift.

    If you have 3 feet of lift, your diffusion on a five foot tank remains at 1 foot diffusion remaining.
    Can this be translated to not so advanced aquarist?


    Sent from my iPhone
    I'm only happy when my otos are happy

  4. #4
    Water is Life 5000 posts, Officially addicted to SCAPE! Zenzu's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Cerritos
    Posts
    5,635
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Carlo
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cjbart1009 View Post
    Can this be translated to not so advanced aquarist?


    Sent from my iPhone
    Head lift is a rating for your pump which essentially equates to output pressure.

    Your pump is rated for 6ft of head lift.

    Tank discharge is 2 to 1 meaning... every 2 ft of tank length = 1 foot of head lift.

    6ft rating at 0ft of head lift = 12ft tank length (2 to 1 ratio)

  5. Likes Nick Shades liked this post
  6. #5
    Water is Life 5000 posts, Officially addicted to SCAPE! Zenzu's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Cerritos
    Posts
    5,635
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Carlo
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Another example is your canister is rated at 6ft head lift...

    if your 16" tank is on a 32" tall stand that equals 48" total height or 4 ft of lift needed.

    Remaining head lift 2ft at a 2 to 1 ratio you can cover a 4ft tank. 2 x 2 = 4ft length

  7. Likes Nick Shades liked this post
  8. #6
    SCAPE Member SCAPEr Electric's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 2015
    Location
    Norwalk
    Posts
    150
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    John
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Nick and Carlo that was very helpful, I never looked that deep into output pressure ratings necessary for a tank. Probably always covered by the unnecessary overkill that plagues many of us in the hobby.

    Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk

  9. #7
    SCAPE Member Sr. SCAPEr cjbart1009's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    549
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Jasper
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)


    I measured the total height and its 45. I have the filter turned to about 50-60% power because its too strong for a 40 long 16 wide tank


    Sent from my iPhone
    I'm only happy when my otos are happy

  10. Likes Zenzu liked this post
  11. #8
    Water is Life 5000 posts, Officially addicted to SCAPE! Zenzu's Avatar
    Member Since
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Cerritos
    Posts
    5,635
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Carlo
    Mentioned
    42 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I like what you've done with the place.

  12. #9
    SCAPE Member Sr. SCAPEr cjbart1009's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    549
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Jasper
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Tank length question

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenzu View Post
    I like what you've done with the place.
    Thanks. Im planning to upgrade when we move on October. If I upgrade to 5 long 20 wide and run it at max power with the HOB will it be enough flow? Can I possibly stretch that to 6? I forgot to mention that I bought an aquaclear 70 for more surface agitation and its on the opposite side of the canister tubes.


    Sent from my iPhone
    Last edited by cjbart1009; 06-10-2018 at 01:26 AM.
    I'm only happy when my otos are happy

  13. #10
    SCAPE Member 5000 posts, Officially addicted to SCAPE! swoof's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Upland
    Posts
    5,210
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Ben
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If it's not enough flow on a 6' tank just add a circulation pump.

  14. #11
    SCAPE Member Sr. SCAPEr cjbart1009's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    549
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Jasper
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by swoof View Post
    If it's not enough flow on a 6' tank just add a circulation pump.
    Im planning on doing 6 x 20 x 16. I might make the tank wider up to 2. Do you think getting another eheim pro 4 600 will be too much?


    Sent from my iPhone
    I'm only happy when my otos are happy

  15. #12
    SCAPE Member 5000 posts, Officially addicted to SCAPE! swoof's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Upland
    Posts
    5,210
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Ben
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Your filter is for filtering the water, if you want flow you use circulation pumps. If running 2 canisters you put intake of each at opposite sides, same with returns. So that the intake for #1 is next to the return for #2. Unless your going with a tank with overflows.

  16. #13
    Moderator Pro SCAPEr Nick Shades's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Redlands, CA
    Posts
    1,797
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Nick
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by swoof View Post
    Your filter is for filtering the water, if you want flow you use circulation pumps. If running 2 canisters you put intake of each at opposite sides, same with returns. So that the intake for #1 is next to the return for #2. Unless your going with a tank with overflows.
    Precisely this. Took the words out of my keyboard.

    Two filters is great. I will always run two (out possibly more) on anything over 20 gallons.

    But staggering their input and output is key.

    I like to drill my tanks, also, so i have one inlet come through the glass, and another over the top for proper surface agitation.

  17. #14
    SCAPE Member Sr. SCAPEr cjbart1009's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    549
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Jasper
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by swoof View Post
    Your filter is for filtering the water, if you want flow you use circulation pumps. If running 2 canisters you put intake of each at opposite sides, same with returns. So that the intake for #1 is next to the return for #2. Unless your going with a tank with overflows.
    Thanks! Im gonna do that instead.


    Sent from my iPhone
    I'm only happy when my otos are happy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •