Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    jared
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I'm new to aquascaping!

Hi all! i'm brand new to aquascaping and loving it so far. just put together my first tank with some hairgrass, moss and Cryptocoryne Wendtii. the Cryptocoryne Wendtii melted away a lot of its leaves (heard this is common) do they usually grow back if left undisturbed? tank got super cloudy about day two but then cleared right up another day or two later. letting the tank get used to itself and start cycling, hopefully and then i will add a couple otos, handful of tetras and a couple small shrimp. How does that sound for creatures? i attached a photo of what i got going on so far
    Attached Images Attached Images

Water is Life 5000 posts, Officially addicted to SCAPE! Zenzu's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Carlo
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Heya, welcome to Scape. Yes it's common for Crypts to melt once introduced to a new tank. If left alone and tank environment is suitable (mainly temp, nutrients and lights) it will grow back.

SCAPE Member Pro SCAPEr Nick Shades's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Nick
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tetrae and shrimp CAN be okay, but the juveniles will still suffer a higher rate of mortality.

SCAPE Member Sr. SCAPEr angeltre's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Angel
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Welcome and a good start. Give then lots of plants/rocks/wood to hide and you will be fine. Maybe give the shrimp a month of two head start on the fish. I have Betas and lots of tetras in my tanks and still able to sell/trade lots of shrimp each year. Although I have been amazed at the size cherry a Neon can eat!

Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Tac
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)