User Tag List

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: geektom's sanity tank (20g regular)

SCAPE Member Sr. SCAPEr geektom's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Tom Mays
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

geektom's sanity tank (20g regular)

Hi friends- well, it looks like the 150g project is going to be delayed for some time, so to keep myself sane, I will be creating a small tank.

The tank is a standard 20g from Visio- nothing fancy.

The goal of this tank is to keep a few fish, maybe some shrimp other than Amano (which would be a first for me), keep some stem plants that I have not kept before (which is most of them) and learn about E.I. dosing (I have never used a regimented fert schedule before)

You can see in the pictures I am going with a very simple scape. I started DSM on the S. repens two weeks ago in anticipation of using them in the big tank, I will probably go another 2-3 weeks if I can be patient.

The rocks are thin and leave me more space to plant behind them than you might expect looking from the front.

Substrate is organic potting soil, then Fluorite, then capped with sand. I didn't plan on this being a display tank, which is why you can see the soil, but I will go back in and fix that.

I will be using a 50/50 mix of RO and tap for my water, and will post the water parameters once I measure them- but it should give me a good baseline to start.

I will be using a Finnex 24" FugeRay Planted + for lighting.

I will be using CO2 and an in-tank diffuser.

I think that is all the specs I have from now.

I would appreciate any and all feedback on my goals, especially on plant selection.

I know that I want to try AR mini between the repens and the rocks, some bushy stems (primarily on the left side), and something interesting but not tall on the right side.

Other than that- I am completely open and would love to hear your suggestions!

Thanks!IMG_0685.jpgIMG_0686.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk