Justin
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Java's Low Tech AquaMaxx 9.1

FTS 05.23.2017

HI All,

I'm new to freshwater but have several years of experience with saltwater reef tanks. Recently I was forced to take down my 70 gallon reef and have decided I'd like to give freshwater planted a go. I plan to start small and low tech to get my feet wet. Thoughts, suggestions and feedback are appreciated.

Nothing is set in stone but pretty sure I'll be going with the following:

Tank: AquaMaxx 9.1 gallon Low Iron (23.7" x 9.5" x 9.5" )
    Filtration: Odyssea CFS 130, Zoo Med Nano 10 or SunSun Modular Canister Filter (6x9 small version) - I'm unsure if I want the canister to sit behind the tank or below the table it's on. In either instance I will not be able to hide it. Thoughts on performance of each for a tank this size?
    Lighting: Chihiros A-Series Aquatic Aquarium High Output LED - 39w - Heavily leaning toward this light, I think they look great over small tanks...I have concerns about this being too much light for a low tech tank but I believe the lights are dimmable to some extent (I think I've read that there are switches that adjust power level) but need to do some additional research. Also, it looks like these all come from overseas so might take a while to get. Alternate Suggestions?
    Scape: My vision is a small manzanita stump with fingering roots and some seriyu or dragon stone...I like the idea of having height one the sides and some open area in the middle for swimming space with carpeting plants in the front and a few tall items in the back corners.
    Inhabitants: Neon, Cardinal or Green Tetras (5-7) and something like Galaxy Rasbora (5-7). Unsure if I want to try shrimp but once the tank is mature I'm will consider some options.

So far I only have a mock up of the tank. I'm waiting for the console table that the tank will be placed on to get here before I buy everything.