User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Fix for noisy Fluval Edge 6

  1. #1
    SCAPE Member Just Planted DurocShark's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2016
    Location
    A Mickey Mouse Town
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Don
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Fix for noisy Fluval Edge 6

    When I got my Edge 6, during cycling the pump made a constant grinding noise. I kept stripping the filter and cleaning it, but I couldn't get it to stop. Over time, it got less and less to the point where it was intermittent.


    Grrrrrrrrr<pause>grrrrrrrrrrrrr<pause>grrrrrrrrrrr <pause>...etc.


    I sent a support ticket to Hagen to see what they thought about it. They sent me a new impeller. When I took the filter apart again, I found the shaft had some rust in it. This thing is only a month old. No way there should be rust. And obviously the replacement impeller doesn't come with the shaft.


    I put the new impeller on anyway, and had the constant grinding again. Sigh.


    I pulled out the silicone lube I use on rubber seals. It's Haynes brand and made for food processing equipment. FDA approved, blah blah blah. I slopped some on the shaft and put it all back together with the original impeller. The new one looked somewhat cheaper, so I'll keep it as a spare.


    Blessed silence!


    That's all it took. And silicone lube isn't water soluble, so it should last indefinitely. I'll reapply whenever I strip the filter to clean.


    Just thought I'd share in case anybody else wants to try it. The lube I use is around $6 on Amazon, but I get mine from work since we have a division that manufactures food processing equipment.


    And here's a pic of it today. Needs to have the water topped off...


  2. Thanks JRCOX1 thanked for this post
    Likes JRCOX1 liked this post
  3. #2
    SCAPE Member 1000 posts, Semi-Pro SCAPEr banana's Avatar
    Member Since
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Diamond Bar
    Posts
    1,134
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Mindy
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey i just read about that on aquaclear filters. Im hoping i can do the same with my azoo mini one that's making noise. And the marina.. and ...


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Betta person who JUST discovered dwarf shrimp (but have time and space for only very very low maintenance stuff these days!)

  4. Likes DurocShark liked this post
  5. #3
    SCAPE Member SCAPEr Ashenwelt's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2016
    Location
    US
    Posts
    309
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Rob
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Whenever cleaning an impeller... something I learned over thirty years ago is to grab a q-tip and just scrub the shaft. Often times things dry on to it.

    Sent from my SM-N930T using Tapatalk
    Rob aka Ashenwelt
    - If plants go beyond anacharis... I have questions.
    - 5 gallons is for more than Bettas

  6. Thanks DurocShark thanked for this post
    Likes DurocShark liked this post
  7. #4
    SCAPE Member Just Planted DurocShark's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2016
    Location
    A Mickey Mouse Town
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Don
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did a teardown and clean yesterday. Didn't re-lube, but I didn't scrub. Just wiped. Still silent.

    I had disturbed the Fluorite substrate and it dusted everything. That pre filter doesn't catch anything fine, heh.

  8. #5
    SCAPE Member Just Planted supperfish's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    9
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Superfish
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh, Fluval Edge 6 gallon fish tank can keep Betta fish, how does it go to the surface to get air?
    Last edited by supperfish; 06-01-2017 at 06:47 PM.

  9. #6
    SCAPE Member Just Planted DurocShark's Avatar
    Member Since
    Aug 2016
    Location
    A Mickey Mouse Town
    Posts
    41
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Don
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by supperfish View Post
    Oh, Fluval Egde 6 can keep Betta fish, how does it go to the surface to get air?
    It's an individual thing. The opening is there, and my betta had no problem finding his way to the opening. Same with my corys. I doubt that ADFs would be able to find it though.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •