Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Mike
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Cool Need advice on setting up a shrimp tank

Hi all, I want to set up a shrimp tank, however I have limited money and experience, therefore I need your advice. As I said, I have no experience on shrimps, so I need advice on all of the following. Let me know if I am missing anything.

1. Tank size (I have a regular 10g, 15g, 20h, and 30xh)
    2. Substrate (I did some research, thinking about Fluval plant and shrimp stratum since I think it is the cheapest for plants and shrimps)
    3. Lighting (My 10g came with the hood with regular LED which is not too bright and I also have a JEBO MW-2-10W with 1 white light and 1 blue light)
    4. Plants (I have lots of Java Moss and 3 large Moss Ball)
    5. Filter (I have HOB filter rated for 60 gallon and JEBO 835 canister filter which I am planning to get a sponge guard if I decide to use it for the shrimps tank, a sponge filter rated for 80 gallon, and a small HOB filter rated for 10 gallon)
    6. Heater (I have a 50 watt and a 200 Watt, however I don't know if I can still use the 200W since look like some water went inside it even though it is fully submersible )
    7. Shrimp food (I haven't purchase any yet)
    8. Temperature (My house get pretty hot during the summer, and the water temperature range from 78-84 during hot summer days, planning to get an aquarium fan to help on the temperature issue)
    9. Using tap water with prime (I do not have additional money on RO or RO.DI system)
    9. Type of shrimps (I need shrimps that are hardy and can withstand higher temperature as well as colorful, maybe some yellow shrimps or blue neos?)

SCAPE Member Sr. SCAPEr Aquaman's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Erick
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pm you

SCAPE Member 1000 posts, Semi-Pro SCAPEr bostoneric's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Boston
    Mentioned