Post Thanks / Like
    Real Name
    Jason
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

90g Cliffside Paludarium Build Thread

Hey all, I am relatively new to planted tanks. I have experience with turtle tanks and recently finished a backyard pond (to house the growing turtles) but I wanted to build more of a show tank for our living room. I have been really inspired by all of the amazing planted tanks and figured what I currently lack in aquatic gardening knowledge, I would try to make up for with a showy hardscape in a paludarium style build. I am posting what I have of my build pics. There are points where my hands were too mucked up with silicone or expanding foam and/or I was too lost in the build to document with pics so I apologize in advance for any gaps in the construction journal. All criticism and suggestions are most welcome, especially for planting ideas for the aquatic portion! I could use your help.

My hope is to create the appearance of a cliff with land mass jutting out above and beach area below. My thought was to create a bonsai forest on top of the cliff on the land portion. I am not sure of options for any species that can interact with the land section without escaping and would love your input on this...

Stats:

Tank dimensions- 90 gallon- 47" x 22" D x 19.5" H
    Light- Medium-high LEDs though I have not measured PAR levels- about 12" above water level
    Substrate- Medium Sand on the bottom with some Microbe-Lift Aquatic Plant Media. I used some spare Fluval Stratum and top soil for the land area
    Pressurized CO2 injection
    Filtration is via a 45g diy sump with separate refugium
    I am also using a MistKing misting system for the emersed plants/bonsai